Karl’s Poem

Karl had to write a poem for language arts class, I really like it!

I Am…
I am the eldest maple tree, towering high above the thick forest canopy;
I wonder what it is like for who get to live life, not to merely observe;
I hear the chitter-chatter of the green woods’ wonderful creatures below;
I see the miracle of life from the highest view, above the sheltered woods;
I want to explore beyond my branches and into the bush;
I am the eldest maple tree, towering high above the thick forest canopy.

I pretend to exist on the lush forest’s turf, below the songbirds as they trill their tunes;
I feel the dank earth under my roots, bringing the forest’s sustenance to my leaves;
I touch the rolling gusts, as they stream low and graceful over the valley;
I worry that some day the gales shall strip my fronds away;
I cry to think that one morn, my emerald leaves won’t caress the rays of the rising Sun;
I am the eldest maple tree, towering high above the thick forest canopy.

I understand that I shall not endure life as is for the souls I survey;
I say to myself that perhaps this is my part to play in some divine drama;
I dream that my assumption could be erroneous;
I try to brush the endless sky as much as is possible, to feel the ebb and flow;
I hope that some day my thicket will be capable of life without me;
I am the eldest maple tree, towering high above the thick forest canopy.

Leave a Reply

